Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are providing free consultations via PHONE or VIDEO conferencing for your safety and convenience. Our Charlotte office is OPEN during its regular hours.


Disabilities Involving The Musculoskeletal System

On Behalf of | Dec 29, 2015 | Social Security Disability

The human spine consists of 33 vertebra: 7 cervical, 12 thoracic, 5 lumbar, 5 sacral which fuse to form the sacrum and 4 coccygeal which are also fused together to form the coccyx bone or tail bone. These bones surround and support the spinal cord which connects the brain with the body. Between the bones are disks which act as shock absorbers and configure to both the stability and flexibility of the spine. Each spinal disk is called a nucleus pulposus and a herniated nucleus pulposus is a disk that is out of place, otherwise known as a “slipped disk” and abbreviated as HNP. Many people with disabilities have as a component of their physical limitations problems associated with one or more HNPs.


See What Our Clients Say

Robert Whitlow was awesome. He made sure he was totally prepared and also that we were prepared. Because of his knowledge and professionalism our case went through without a hitch.

Stephen D.

View more

See What Our Clients Say

Robert Whitlow is a great asset to your firm. He’s personal as well as professional. I cannot thank him enough for his help!

Jeanette W.
View more

What Our Clients Say

My previous attorney lost my disability claim. I saw Attorney Robert Whitlow and he took the time to totally understand what was going on and helped me get the necessary information.

Brandi P.
View more